paper hydrangea tutorial

paper hydrangeaI believe I have mentioned my fondness for inexpensive, do-it-yourself solutions – especially when it comes to decor. These flowers are a perfect example of something that is beautiful, easy to make and is extremely budget friendly. I’m a little pressed for time on this post and I’m sure you’re dying to find out how to make them so I’m just going to get right down to the how-to.

Here’s what you’ll need:you'll need:: large scalloped circle punch
:: craft paper (or paper lunch bags)
:: styrofoam ball
:: glue gun
:: twigs for stems
:: something with a point at the end (I use a knitting needle)cut circlesStart by cutting out a stack of scalloped circles. I fold my paper a couple of times so I can cut multiple circles at a time.foldTo make a “petal” take one of your circles, place the knitting needle at approximately the middle and fold loosely in half. Do not crease, just a gentle fold. Fold in half again, and again – three folds total. glueAdd a dab of glue to the point of your petal and push it into the styrofoam ball. Push it into the ball just enough for it to stick, if you push too far the ball will break. Continue to add petals until you can no longer see the styrofoam. The more randomly you add the petals, the more real your flower will look.stemOnce the flower gets to the fullness of your liking, add a dab of glue to the end of one of your twigs. Insert glued end into the middle of your flower. It should look like this when you’re doneall doneMake as many as you like for fun arrangement!

I used a bag of paper lunch bags and a bag of styrofoam balls in various sizes from the dollar store so this project ended up costing $2 for 8 flowers!closeflowers

56 thoughts on “paper hydrangea tutorial

  1. Do you think these could be made with scrapbook paper? I would like to make them purple. Approximately how many scalloped circles did you use per flower ball? Thanks!

    • They certainly could be made from scrapbook paper. I honestly have no idea how many circles I used. I’ve always made the flowers in batches so I’ve always cut out as many circles as I can and go from there.

      • I used a 2.5 in scol lapel edge punch and a 2 in. Styrofoam ball am it took approximately 96. Petals

  2. Do you know the diameter of the scallop punch? I was thinking 3 inches from the pictures, but wanted to be sure before I bought it!

  3. Pingback: whirlwind | one young love

  4. Pingback: Craftiness Inspiration « Making Life Beautiful

  5. Pingback: DIY fleurs en papier pour faire venir le printemps! | Leslie Passerino

  6. Pingback: DIY Hydrangea flowers from card or paper | PosyRosy

  7. Pingback: Top 4 | eventful existence

  8. Pingback: Paper hydrangea tutorial | DiyReal.com

  9. Pingback: Make a bouquet of Paper Hydrangeas for Mother’s Day | Crafts 'n Coffee

  10. Pingback: Mayo, mes de las FLORES. | L3D

  11. These are so freaking adorable! I’m featuring them on my [so cheap, so easy] series tomorrow. I’ll link back to your original post. Thanks for sharing!

  12. Pingback: 5 DIYs para intentar este fin de semana | Cosas Molonas | Blog de Inspiración & DIY |

  13. Pingback: Weekly Inspiration | Making Life Beautiful

  14. Pingback: textil- és papírvirágok, kalandra fel! | Gombszem

  15. Where do you recommend I buy twigs? I have been trying to search for places to buy them, but I can’t seem to find them. I’ve also been trying to find some branches.

  16. Pingback: Main Ingredient Monday- Brown Paper Bags

  17. Pingback: Paper Bag Crafts | Inspired Home Style

  18. Pingback: Homemade paper flowers inspiration | La Caccavella

  19. Pingback: 60 DIY Decorate with Paper | Rilane - We Aspire to Inspire

  20. Pingback: 50+ Things to Make With Paper Bags - Becoming Martha

  21. Pingback: Palline di Natale fai-da-te con chicchi di caffè e filtri | blog.casase.it | se ciò che cerchi é sentirti a casa.

  22. Pingback: Coffee Filter Crafts - Think Crafts by CreateForLess

  23. Pingback: 50 Decoraciones que puedes hacer casi gratis con papel – Marcianos.com

  24. Pingback: 50 Extraordinary Beautiful DIY Paper Decoration Ideas | Techy Ninja

  25. Pingback: 50 Extraordinary Beautiful DIY Paper Decoration Ideas - Indie Artist Connect

  26. Pingback: 50 Extraordinary Beautiful DIY Paper Decoration Ideas | Gardening And Home

  27. Pingback: 50 Extraordinary Beautiful DIY Paper Decoration Ideas – News Popcorn

  28. Pingback: 16 Ways to Repurpose Paper Bags - Dukes and Duchesses

  29. Pingback: 50 Extraordinary Beautiful DIY Paper Decoration Ideas – My Blog

  30. Pingback: DIY PAPER FLOWERS THAT WON’T DIE – My Handcrafted Haven

  31. Hello. This is beautiful, amazing and very organic. Can I do this and make a living from it? I am a single mom of two trying to make ends meet. Thank you.

  32. I read that you used 3″ scalloped punch, but what size styrofoam ball was used. I assume smaller punchers would need a smaller diameteer scalloped punch. True?

  33. Pingback: 50+ Things to Make With Paper Bags - The Simply Crafted Life

  34. Pingback: 11 Crafts and Other Uses for Coffee Filters - Little House Living

  35. Pingback: 11 Crafts and Other Uses for Coffee Filters - HealthProdukt.com

Comment