expanding the urban farm // welcome bees!

smokerApparently I wasn’t kidding when I called our chickens our gateway animal. This weekend we decided to add bees to the list. bee boxWith great encouragement and lots of help from our friends at My Local Honey we have been getting ready for our fist hive. Jake, Canaan and I made the trip out to a near by bee farm and picked up our starter pack which we then loaded up in the car (yes thats right, over 10.000 bees in the back of our 4runner) and brought home. getting them set upJake got straight to work loading them into their box – he was super excited. I can’t wait to harvest our very own local honey at the end of the season!

Note – I’m pretty sure after reading this post my sister-in-law might never again visit our home but don’t worry Lace, theres a bee suit here with your name on it! And we promise to share our honey!

Oh and now that the chickens are in their awkward adolescent phase they  have been promoted to the out doors. Things are really moving along over here! teenage chickensAnd if it didn’t already feel like a zoo around here, take a look at the neighborhood pet.neighborhood petThat is a peacock and it is on our house or according to Everly ‘upstairs’. He stopped by for a visit the other night while we were having friends over for dinner. Just a little meal time entertainment! Yeesh!

2 thoughts on “expanding the urban farm // welcome bees!

  1. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to
    your website? My website is in the exact same niche as yours and
    my visitors would definitely benefit from some of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you. Appreciate it!

Comment