everly’s first birthday: the decor

If I do say so myself, this was a great first birthday. At first I’ll admit, I was a little overwhelmed by the responsibility planning my first child’s first birthday but after I got over the initial hump I had so much fun! Yes, this did happen two and a half months ago but as you may remember I was on a bit of a blogging hiatus. I figured there’s no reason for you to miss out on a perfectly good party just because I was out for the summer AND part of the reason I am blogging in the first place is so we can document all these great memories. I definitely did not want to skip this one

In general I’m not really big on ‘themes’. I wanted her party to be fun, colorful and just the right amount of girly so we decided to do a simple picnic in the park.
Because I couldn’t find any invitations I was in love with – and partly because I procrastinated planning until it was too late to order any – I decided to make my own and I was SO happy with how they turned out! They are also available in my shop!I set up some old folding doors my parents had in their garage to serve as a backdrop for the food tables. I really like how it defined the space and made it feel like a party rather than just a field. I kept the decor pretty simple, a few tables and crates from home, Everly’s high chair and little reading chair. The banners were made out of solid scrapbook paper with scrapbook letters and the garland hanging on the tables is made out of tulle puffs that I hope to have a tutorial up for soon.
We set up a lemonade bar which was a big hit. I set out a large pitcher of plain lemonade and had strawberry, raspberry and peach purees available for guests to mix their own drinks. I will definitely be using this ideas at future parties.
The guests had vanilla bean cupcakes with key lime frosting and Everly got her own baby birthday cake. I used the Baby’s First Birthday Cake recipe from this website because I was a little freaked out about the thought of her eating all that sugar. With a cream cheese frosting it actually turned out delicious!She was not super thrilled about being the center of attention…
But she did love her cake! What a pretty girl we can’t get enough of her!

4 thoughts on “everly’s first birthday: the decor

  1. what a beautiful little one! that last photo is going to be a treasure forever! have you ever told us what kind of camera you use?

    • Thank you. I love that photo! We use a Nikon D3100 usually with the 18-55mm lens. But honestly, for this post and the one I’ll have up next, the credit goes to the photographer! My brother is so talented and artistic and has a total eye for photos. He was the team photographer for the day and he was amazing!

Comment

