baked potato soup

The fall just makes me want soup. I don’t know if its the crispness of the air, the shorter days or the sweaters and scarfs but soup just feels right. This is one of my favorite fall soups because it is so easy and so budget friendly. It’s possible that one of the reasons I love it most is because of all the indulgent toppings – some times I’m not sure if I eat soup for the soup or for the deliciousness that comes on top, true confession.

Baked Potato Soup:
slightly modified from cooking light

Ingredients

4 baking potatoes (about 2 1/2 pounds)
6 cups 2% reduced-fat milk
1 cup (4 ounces) reduced-fat shredded extra-sharp cheddar cheese, divided
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1 cup reduced-fat sour cream
optional – a couple of teaspoons of hot sauce

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Pierce potatoes with a fork and bake for 1 hour or until tender. Once potatoes are cool enough to handle peel away and discard skins. Roughly mash potatoes and set aside. I usually do this part earlier in the day so dinner comes together quickly later. Pour milk into a large pot over medium heat. Heat until just before boiling stirring frequently to keep from scalding. Once milk is heated through add potatoes and continue to mash until soup thickens. Add cheese and stir until melted. Add salt, pepper and hot sauce to taste.

Serve topped with a sprinkle of cheese, bacon, green onions or chives and a scoop of sour cream.

*I haven’t tried this yet so I didn’t want to put it in the actual recipe but I think the next time I make this soup I’ll saute some finely chopped onions and minced garlic before adding the milk because a garlic makes everything better!Don’t forget to enter my fall giveaway!

3 thoughts on “baked potato soup

Comment

