print your own fabric labels

As I mentioned before, I am in the process of starting an Etsy store. It’s still a ways off, I have to get a handful of things done before its up and running. One of the things on my to-do list is creating my own labels. I found this tutorial on how to make fabric labels using your own printer from one of my current favorite blogs.It ended up being much easier than I expected. The hardest part was coming up with a design I loved. This is a super easy, very inexpensive project.Even if you aren’t planning to sell your creations they would be the perfect extra special touch to a handmade gift. Because you are doing it all yourself they are fully customizable you could write a special message, include a date of birth, wedding date, whatever you want! And when you print them they don’t all have to be the same. If you want, you could make some for a baby gift, some for a wedding gift and some basic ones for gifts to come!I have to say, I am really happy with the way they turned out! My advice – when you are designing the labels leave a good inch and a half of blank space at the top, my very top labels didn’t print both times I tried it.I love the way they look on the burp clothes. Check out the full tutorial from Whitney’s blog if you’re interested!

7 thoughts on “print your own fabric labels

  1. do you print on the freezer paper and it bleeds through or opposite. What is the purpose of the freezer paper?

    • After you iron the freezer paper onto your fabric you’ll print on the fabric side. The freezer paper gives a thickness to the fabric that feels similar to regular paper so the fabric can feed through your printer. After you’re done printing you’ll peel the freezer paper off before sewing your tags on.

    • Thank you, I actually need to do an update on this post. I have found that these tags may be more suited for things that don’t need to be washed often like bags or scarves or something along those lines. Because of the frequent washing of baby items my tags have faded and some you can no longer read. Just in case you were planning on trying it.

  2. Pingback: perfectly cooked brown rice | one young love

Comment

