mom’s amazing mocha frosting

Last week was my birthday and it was wonderful! Thank you all for the birthday wishes. My family did an incredible job of making me feel special and loved. The first year I was actually surprised by each gift, right down to the surprise phone call from my brother in Panama!

Birthday dinners are a big deal in my family. When it is your birthday you get to request whatever you want for dinner and my mom makes the best birthday dinners. Literally better than any restaurant, ever. But my most favorite part about birthday dinner, is always birthday dessert. Every year my request is the same, white cake with mom’s amazing mocha frosting and every year it is better than I remember. I’m a fan of gourmet and experimental foods but when it comes to birthday dessert I love the memories this one brings! The frosting is really what makes the cake – I do realize these are cupcakes in the pictures but it was cake for my birthday. It is so creamy, chocolaty, espresso-y – not a word I’m sure – AMAZING. And to top it off, this recipe has been in our family for generations, a secret recipe that unfortunately I can not share the details of, I can only tell you it is my ultimate favorite.

Kidding! Did you really think I would tease you with this chocolaty treat and not give you the recipe? Oh and that whole ‘been in the family for generations’ thing, pretty sure that’s not true either. Sorry, I’ll stop kidding and get straight to the most important part, the recipe!Mom’s Amazing Mocha Frosting


Ingredients
1 cup softened butter
4 cups powdered sugar
1/2 cup baking cocoa
2 tsp instant espresso
2 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup cream, 1/2 & 1/2 or milk

Mix together first five ingredients, slowly add cream until frosting is combined – you may not use all of the liquid. Once all the ingredients are incorporated mix on high speed for three minutes until frosting is light and fluffy.

Try not to eat the whole bowl with a spoon, or do, I won’t judge!

5 thoughts on “mom’s amazing mocha frosting

  1. Pingback: perfectly cooked brown rice | one young love

Comment

