german pancakes or dutch babies?

german pancake closeEver since I can remember, german pancakes have been my very favorite breakfast food. For birthdays or special weekend breakfasts growing up, I would always request german pancakes. Fluffy, buttery, slightly crunchy german pancakes. These are my comfort food. german pancakes 4xEmbarrassing fact – I ate a whole 8″ x 8″ pancake about 3-4 times a week for my entire pregnancy (usually one batch makes about four normal servings…). This is one of those recipes I know by heart so I am never stuck with out them. Its always been a debate about what they are called. I know them as german pancakes, some people only recognize them as dutch babies. But whatever you call them, I can never say no. german wholeWhile they are in the oven they puff up into a gorgeous golden brown pillow of goodness. I love how tall and fluffy they get, hard to snap a picture before they start falling though. Here’s the recipe you should definitely give them a try!

German Pancakes
3 eggs
2 T butter
1/2 c milk
1/2 c flour
1/2 t sugar
1/2 t salt

Preheat oven to 450. Place baking dish with butter in pre-heated oven until butter is melted and starting to brown. While butter is melting, whisk eggs and mix dry ingredients in a separate bowl. Whisk milk and dry ingredients into eggs alternately. Once butter is browned remove baking dish from oven and pour batter into the dish. Reduce heat to 425 and bake for 18-20 minutes. Serve immediately with a dusting of powdered sugar and lemon wedges.german pancake w/ lemonI won’t judge if you eat the whole thing!

this post is linked up to the tuesday talent show at Chef in Training

4 thoughts on “german pancakes or dutch babies?

  1. Shut up! I totally made these this morning! We call them oven pancakes and I make mine in a 9″ pie pan instead of square. I had apple butter on mine and could have easily eaten the whole pan to myself. 🙂

Comment

