roasted brussels sprouts with lemon and garlic

brussels an garlicI didn’t grow up eating Brussels sprouts. In fact my mom shudders at the mention of these tiny cabbage-like veggies so they were certainly not in her repertoire of veggies. The first time I had Brussels sprouts was in a foods class in college and I loved them! I couldn’t believe I had never had them before and was surprised that they get such a bad rap. I’ve since forgoten about my love for these cute little guys. Maybe because every time I mention them my husband wrinkles his nose and my mom makes a fake gaging sound. Maybe they aren’t as good as I remember.

Oh, but they are! I came across the sprouts in the grocery store the other day and just couldn’t resist them any longer – as I mentioned they are pretty cute – and I just had to settle it, delicious, or not so? I brought them home and paired them with steak, potatoes and some red wine in hopes of making them a bit more appealing to my husband. And guess what, he loved them. I’m talking seconds and thirds loved them. And I would eat these every day if you made them, loved them! I knew it! I knew they were delicious!brusslesIf you are harboring a secret fear of the sprouts I really do recommend you try them again and when you do you should try them like this:

Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Lemon and Garlic

2 cups Brussels sprouts
4 cloves garlic – un-peeled
1 small lemon
1 T olive oil
kosher salt

Remove outer leaves of Brussels sprouts, trim ends, rinse and cut in half. Preheat oven to 400. In an oven safe pan toss sprouts and garlic with olive oil. (I left the peels on my garlic because I was concerned about them burning. Hind sight it probably would have been fine to remove them.) Cook over medium heat until sprouts are evenly browned. Cut lemon in half, remove seeds and squeeze lemon juice over sprouts and garlic. Stir to coat evenly. Turn off burner and place pan in oven to finish cooking about 5-8 minutes. Sprouts are cooked when fork tender, do not over cook or sprouts will become mushy and much less desireable. Sprinkle with kosher salt to taste and serve.roasted brussels

I am defiantly making extras next time! I had no idea they would be such a hit!

3 thoughts on “roasted brussels sprouts with lemon and garlic

  1. Well, your Aunt Tammy gave this recipe a whirl! 🙂 I am now a big fan of brussel sprouts!! I may be alone in being a fan in this household, never-the-less I will make them again, if only for myself. Love your pictures Hil. I am such a visual person, so if your photos can inspire me to cook something out of the ordinary – kudos to you!!! Love reading your blog. xoxoxo

  2. Pingback: What I’ve Really Been Up To | designbylulu – paper | baby | home

Comment

