words to live by: count it all joy

james 1

I am loving my Thursday morning moms group. I was originally thinking that it would just be a time to get out of the house once a week, but it has turned into much more. I’ve never really been one for “studies”. Often times I find that the questions seem more rhetorical than thought provoking and that the right answer is alluded to so quickly that it doesn’t leave much opportunity for true thought and reflection. But I am really enjoying what we are working thought right now. This weeks study brought us to James. Here is what it says:

Count it all joy, my brothers, wen you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing.
James 1:2-4

 I have read this passage so many times. In fact, its one that I often finish in my head with out really thinking about what the words actually mean. But this time I listened, and reflected and really thought about what this is saying. Count it all joy, when your face trials. The Lord desires that we are able find true joy in each circumstance he allows us to be in. He does this for a very important and loving reason, so that we may become steadfast. Steadfast, what a wonderful way to be, fixed, unswerving, constant. Our trials are opportunities for us to put into practice clinging to Him and Him alone. And steadfastness, in its full effect, brings maturity, wholeness and the chance to be complete.

Trials are an opportunity to remember that my joy and security must be independent of my circumstances or others actions. People are imperfect and will always fail me. But the Lord is constant and unfailing.

One thought on “words to live by: count it all joy

  1. That’s awesome that you found a mom’s study during the day! I’ve been trying to find one myself! I’m in MOMS club but that’s not faith based or anything. I love that it’s something I can do during the day, though, while the hubby is at work! Good verses. Very hard to consider hard things pure joy. I guess if it was so easy it wouldn’t produce steadfastness now would it? lol.

Comment

