leftovers fit for company

mediterranean pasta

We entered into the world of sleep training a few weeks ago. Baby girl used to be the best sleeper. Since the day we brought her home from the hospital she knew when it was night time. She would sleep harder and longer at night. The second we got the go ahead to let her sleep through the night she did, like a champ. AND THEN…the honeymoon was over. At about three months she realized that its more fun to wake up and hang out with mommy three times a night than it is to sleep. Sleeping is for babies! I put up with it for a few months because she wasn’t exactly tipping the scale and I thought maybe she needed the extra feedings. But the six month mark has come and gone and it is time for this little one to sleep through the night.

Luckily the process has gone rather smoothly. Words cannot express the amount of self control it takes to let your baby learn to sleep. If it wasn’t for the the hope of a full nights sleep ahead I would have quit 20 minutes into the process. We’ve been at it for a little over a week and I woke up to the most wonderful sound this morning, my husbands alarm! Thats right, our little ray of sunshine slept the whole night! Which means yours truly got a whopping 7 1/2 hours of sleep! I felt human again.

It is amazing what you can get done on a full nights sleep! I cleaned our house, did some work from home, made my favorite baked oatmeal, finished two cups of piping hot coffee and even took a shower. By myself! (Because I’m a big fan of multi-tasking this is very rare, the baby and I usually take team showers.) I got more done by ten o’clock then I usually get done all day! Chalk one up for sleep training!

We had friends over this afternoon for a late lunch. Since last week I can’t stop thinking about mediterranean pizza. I still have all of the ingredients in the fridge except for the pizza dough. SO today I thought to myself, why not make a mediterranean pasta. Genius! I’m never a big fan of leftovers and especially not when I’m having friends over for lunch. But this was perfect. It was even easier than the pizza, equally satisfying and didn’t resemble leftovers in any way. If you took my advice and made the pizza last week you’ll have the ingredients to make this too!

Mediterranean Pizza

all of these ingredients are to-taste so exact amounts will not be included

whole wheat pasta (I used fusilli because it’s what I had on hand)
kalamata olives
sun dried tomatoes
artichoke hearts
small red onion
pesto
feta cheese
red pepper flakes
olive oil

Cook pasta according to directions on package. While pasta is cooking, roughly chop olives, tomatoes, artichokes and red onion. Once pasta is cooked drain over sink. Using the pasta pot, add a splash of olive oil and onions. Saute onions to your liking (I like mine to keep a bit of their crunch). Add drained pasta to onions, mix in desired amount of pesto along with chopped olives, tomatoes and artichokes. Sprinkle in feta and a pinch of red pepper flakes. Stir to combine and dig in!

4 thoughts on “leftovers fit for company

  1. We are doing sleep training here as well! Not because of night wake ups but more b/c our little angel wouldn’t fall asleep on his own. Such an important skill and one that neither of our boys learned by themselves. As hard as it is to hear your baby cry…sometimes that’s the only way! Hope it continues to get better!

  2. Lovely post. So pleased to hear the sleep is working out. I remember how great a feeling that was when my girls cracked it. The recipe looks fab too. You might just want to doublecheck its title! 😉

Comment

